Guppy is not getting better after 4 weeks... need cruelty free options :'(

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

GuppyMom32

Reaction score
Hi, I have been treating a sick guppy in a hospital tank for about 4 weeks now. He isn't getting better at all. There have been zero improvements in his condition. I have tried giving him a treatment for fungus and fin decay... since his fins are ripped and there is white stuff coming off of it (this treatment has not worked). Not only that but his tail is also drooped down and he seems to have trouble swimming... and I honestly don't even know what would cause this. The only positive is that he still shows interest in the bit of food that I put in twice daily. I feel as though I have let him down and I feel awful. I am new to this so is there any painless options when trying to put a fish down? And if not does anyone have any advice on what I could do to try to save him?? I just really don't know what to do :'(

Thanks to anyone that gives me their input.

Can you post a picture of the fish?

Have you tested the water quality for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH & GH (general hardness)?
if yes what are the results?
if no, take a glass of tank water to your local pet shop and ask them to test for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate & pH, and write down the results when they do it. We want numbers like 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, nitrate 20, pH 7.2, and GH is 120ppm, or something like that.

What is the temperature of the water?

How long has the tank been set up for?

How often do you do water changes and gravel clean the substrate, and how much water do you normally change?

What sort of filter do you have on the tank and how often do you clean it, and how do you clean it?

------------------------
White stuff coming off the body is usually excess mucous produced by the fish when it is stressed out by poor water quality or chemicals in the water.