Freshwater fish for a 50 liters tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

beedobu

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a beginner that's planning on purchasing her first 55 liter tank (aquascape 55 start, to be specific). that's about 14 gallons.
I'd like to get either a small school of male guppies, mixed cardinals or mixed neon tetras. I was told for that size tank I could get them, but I shouldn't get more than 4, but i should keep at least 10. that's very conflicting info. what should I do? do I have other options that isn't a lone betta? I'd like to house them with a freshwater snail, if possible.

What is the pH, GH, and KH of your water? You can find this out, by going to your local water provider or by calling them. (We need actual numbers. Ex. “dGH or ppm”)

Neon tetras do need to be in groups of 6 or more, and so do cardinal tetras. Sorry to tell you, but a 14g tank is to small.

You may be able to do a small group of guppies, if your water hardness is in the right range.

Welcome to TFF. :hi:

Yes, you certainly are getting conflicting information. To best answer your question on fish, we need to know your water parameters for the source (tap) water. GH (general or total hardness) is important as some fish need harder water, others softer, others sort of middle of the road. The pH also. GH is not going to change in the aquarium so once we know what it is, and the pH helps, we'll be good to go.

Second issue is tank size. You are going to be restricted to what we term nano fish because they remain quite small at maturity. Most of these will be wild caught so water parameters will be important. Most of these fish are also shoaling species, meaning they need to be in a group. Some species can manage with as few as six or seven, while other species need more.