Cory And Gourami Questions...

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

disFUNctional

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hey all!
wahey.gif

I've currently got a 200L tank (roughly 50-ish ?US? gallons) which I'm planning on converting into a tropical community setup. (At the moment it's housing some goldfish, which will be going on a permanent vacation to my aunt's house, lol.
wink.png
)
The specs are: 122cm(L) 36.5cm (D) 45cm(H), with a fluval 404 filter (which has ammonia rocks in it, as well as the usual filter media), 3mm gravel, 1 java fern and 1 anubias petite (both live), some driftwood, and a overturned terracotta pot, and an ugly fake log decoration, which I'm  eventually going to cover with a plant.

I've only had fish for about 6 months now (so obviously I'm still a total noob!), but have come to realize that I want a more heavily planted tank (I'm thinking I'll do 50/50 live and fake plants, as I don't want to worry about managing the Co2), with more vibrant looking fish.

I've decided that I'm going to have 2 shoals of fish (one of which will probably be corys... I haven't yet decided on what the other shoal will be yet) and a gourami, and even with all of my research I still can't decide which type of cory or gourami I want! 
sad2.gif

Gourami Questions:

1A. I've read conflicting reports that kissing gourami are both a good and bad choice for beginners, but from what I can tell this is because most people don't actually do the proper research on them to see if they are actually compatible for their tank, etc (apparently most people keep them in a 10gal)... So I'm wondering with my sized tank, would they actually be a beginner-friendly choice? (If no, skip all the rest of 1# questions.)

1B. Could I fit 2 in my tank? (I've tried using Advert for another forum removed.com, but as far as I can tell they don't actually have them listed.)