Clown Pleco Won't Come Out!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

MagicGirl33

Reaction score
I have a clown pleco that is about a year old and I've seen him about five times. He never comes out, not even for food. I leave it but I come back to check on him (I feed him at 9;30 at night) and he's never out and the other fish pick at his food. What do I do? I'm worried he's not eating enough but when I saw him he was super fat and oddly pale on every other stripe. That could be his colouring or stress from when I accidentally knock over decor or net him. Any ideas to get him out or do something about his weight? I've been feeding him an algae wafer every other night for two months but he's still the same. He's also not very long. I read clown plecos can get up to 3 inches and he is only barley an inch and a bit. I did get him from petsmart so yeah. What should I do?

The tank I have him in is 20 gallons with a ph of 7.2, nitrate of 10, nitrite of 0, and ammonia of 0. It's a bowfront tank with a fluval 206 filter and the temp of the water if normally 24-25 degrees celsius. The tank has live plants and driftwood. Other fish are 5 kuhli loaches, 5 zebra danios, 5 neon tetras, and it used to have 2 platys but they left around 3 months ago.

Avel covered the reason you don't see the fish.

Do you have much algae on the glass or ornaments in the tank?
If not, increase the lighting time by an hour or two each day to encourage algae to grow on the glass.

Make sure you have some driftwood in the tank.

Feed the catfish a couple of hours after the tank light shave gone out. Feed a variety of foods too, not just algae wafers every couple of days.

Firstly, if it’s “super fat” it’s getting more than enough food.
Which ‘Clown Plec’ is it? The name is given to several species. If it’s a Panaquolus it wants wood and algae wafers. If it’s a Peckoltia it wants a more carnivorous diet, without the algae wafers.