Ammonia in tap water

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

hurgerburger

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I recently tested my tap water for ammonia, and I found that it was 1ppm. I have one fully cycled 20 gallon tank that is consistently at 0ppm for ammonia, and one new tank that is partially cycled (long story, I thought it was cycled and apparently it's not, however the ammonia levels are less than that of the tap water [between .10 and .25 ppm], so I'm not entirely sure if it's cycled or not). my 20 gallon is a pretty beefy tank, and I have been doing water changes on it periodically for the past 2 years with no problem. What I'm worried about is the 5 gallon. when I'm doing water changes on it, should I use water from the 20 gallon, water from the tap (which has ammonia), or some other kind of water? Also, this is not technically my fish, and I'm going to be giving him back to my old high school next summer (which gets the same tap water, the town adds ammonia for whatever reason). So is there a long term solution for the next caretaker of the betta (I'm assuming they wont go too out of their way to make sure the fish is doing well)? I heard that there is a solution that removes ammonia from water, but I'm not sure if that would starve the beneficial bacteria. I really appreciate all the help everyone has given me over the past couple of days!! I wouldn't have checked the tap water levels without the advice from someone on this forum. Sorry if the grammar is bad, I can't write late at night. basically my main questions are: is my 5 gallon cycled? What is a short term solution for the ammonia both in the tap water and tank? What is a long term solution for someone who wouldn't be as invested in the fish as I am?

There is ammonia in the tap water because you have chloramine in the water supply and the person adding stuff at the water company stuffed up the mixture and added too much ammonia.