500-Litter South American cichlid tank

Nemo91

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am new to cichlids I have a 500-litre tank with 2 giophagus and 2 jack Dempsey. I have read that they will be OK with Rainbowfish as long as they are big enough not to eat.

I've also read that Angelfish will ok as well, but when speaking to my local fish shop they said they would get bullied. Can anyone help with some advice?

Hi the good news is itā€™s a great sized tank the bad news is the jack dempseys are not the best choice in here they are named after a boxer for a reason!

The geophagus and angels are a classic mix but Iā€™d go for a South American tetra one of the disk ones like flames or phantoms. Rainbow fish need harder water and the rest of the fish need softer water. Though the JDs are generally more neutral and a bit cooler than the other fish mentioned.

Iā€™d start to make a choice over the jds and then we can work out your next steps.

The Jack Dempsey cichlids grow to 12 inches (sometimes bigger) and will kill everything in the tank including each other if you have 2 males. Get rid of the Jack Dempsey cichlids.

If you want a fish that is similar in colour to the Jack Dempsey, but peaceful, get blue acaras.

Rainbowfish and angelfish generally require different water chemistry. Rainbowfish are also active and their constant movement can stress angelfish if the tank isn't huge (6ft plus).

Hi the good news is itā€™s a great sized tank the bad news is the jack dempseys are not the best choice in here they are named after a boxer for a reason!

The geophagus and angels are a classic mix but Iā€™d go for a South American tetra one of the disk ones like flames or phantoms. Rainbow fish need harder water and the rest of the fish need softer water. Though the JDs are generally more neutral and a bit cooler than the other fish mentioned.

Iā€™d start to make a choice over the jds and then we can work out your next steps.
Hello