The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

eaglesaquarium

Life, Liberty & Pursuit of the perfect fish tank
Retired Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I have never done a "journal" about a tank before, but I figured I might as well with this one.  

2013-01-23 full tank by eaglesfan54, on Flickr

This tank is a South American biotype tank that a friend and I are pointing together at work.  He and I have been talking about doing this for a while, and we've finally taken the plunge.

Tank dimensions: 6 feet x 18 inches x 22 inches   ~ 120 Gallons.  
Substrate: playsand ~ 2 inches deep throughout...
Filtration: 2 Penguin 350 filters, with a small powerhead to increase circulation.
Lighting: 4 32W industrial (T8) flourescent bulbs "Daylight" - 6500K for 8 hours a day.   (These are the same exact bulbs I use for starting vegetable seedlings.)

The rocks were locally obtained from area streams and creeks and were previously used in a turtle tank (actually the same tank).  The turtles were rehomed about two years ago, after students brought them to us (I work in a high school).

The plants you see are (left to right): An unidentified fern plant on the rock, jungle vallis in the back, java fern on the mopani (Yeah, I know its not S.A.), Java fern in the midground and on the rock on the left-center,

2013-01-23 left side by eaglesfan54, on Flickr

dwarf hairgrass sprinkled throughout the foreground, freshly added cabomba (purple) across the back, hidden by the large rocks in the center, more of the unidentified fern on the wood to the right, a tiny java fern on the wood at the top, a dwarf amazon sword in front of the wood, italian vallis behind the wood.

2013-01-23 right side by eaglesfan54, on Flickr