Why do babies keep appearing?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

SparkysBois

Reaction score
Hi, its my first time owning fish and I recently got 3 female guppies.

After the first week, there were around 7 babies in the tank. Each week, new babies would arrive, around 2-3 at a time. I cleared out everything from the tank to make sure that they were new ones and not just hiding. The first batch are about 5 weeks old now. There have been no new babies for around 3 weeks now, so I assumed that they were all done. Today I cleaned the tank out, took everything out, and once everything was back in for about 20 mins, I noticed that there were three new babies.

Why do so many babies keep appearing?

If your guppies have ever been in a tank with a male guppy (at the fish store for example) they will be carrying packets of sperm. They use these sperm packets to fertilise their eggs, and can continue to have fry every month for a year even in a tank with no male guppy. Your females will continue to have fry every month for some time yet.

If any male fry escape notice, as soon as they mature they will impregnate the females you bought and any female fry in the tank, leading to yet more fry.

They are called 'millions fish' for a reason........

Uh oh :oops:. Its my first time owning fish so I never found any information on that sort of thing when researching before I bought them! it was totally a surprise when I found them in my tank, the pet store had not told me they had been with male fish. I don't have any male fish, so hopefully they run out of sperm soon and stop having babies.

Also thanks for the info - I went to a whole load of websites and couldn't find anything online so this was really helpful. :)