April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Danielhorvath

Reaction score
Hi, okay so I got a new tank from my friend, which has been up and running for a couple of years, so don't need to worry about nitro cycle and stuff,
I love fish! I am studying to become a marine biologist and am in year 11

Measurements are:
L 58
H 30
W 30

52.2 L tank
13.789 gallons

It came with fish and I have added some more,
2 kuhli stripped loaches
2 harlequins
1 ornate tetra
5 neon tetras
2 bloodfin tetras
1 peppered corrie

It may sound like alot but I did think about the different levels so tank isn't over crowded, and some of the fish are nocturnal and hide at day time, and they all have different levels of the tank

I have added 10 glass shrimp, tiny ones, more as live food than anything else, but will my fish eat them?

Also I have got 3 different plants, 1 fine leafed plant and 2 broader ones for a variety, and have 3 different hiding spots/decorations which the fish love as they can keep to themselves, but have a wide space in the middle to swim around in as well,

They have been thriving for about a month now so nothing seems to be to bad,

And I have a water filter, that provides a soft current in the tank, a heater set at 24-25 degrees Celsius and an air bubble thing that oxygenates the water
I do not have a light tho, but apparently the fish I have don't like bright harsh light anyway, but should I get one anyway?

Does this whole tank sound good?
Any changes that should be made?
Thanks so much

Ps how do you go about cleaning the actual water?
I have cleaned everything else on a regular basis, without chemicals and always used the same sponge, etc
But how do you get rid of about 10% of the water without sucking up fish, and then put new water in ?