Tl-550

CoMan

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all

I'm very new to the hobby but been following the forum for about 6 months just learning etc.

Around 1 and half months ago I setup my tl550 Using ro water and red sea coral pro salt and placed about 10kgs of live rock with live sand as substrate in. It cycled and I saw a spike in no2 and 3 and watch them decrease over 2 weeks to 0. I then added cuc two turbos two hermits(red legged). I left it another two weeks and with water changes I still had no nitrates etc. I With the advise of my lfs added two ocellaris clowns.They've been going about a week and I know it's early days but they seem happy.

1st q - have I rushed the setup process? I know that marines is all about slowly does it. What's your thoughts?

For filtration I have a skimmer(come back to this later) in chamber 1. In chamber 2 starting from the bottom up I have the following: Live rock rubble, two layers of rowaphos in bags(flattened like pancakes) between filter wool and then carbon in a bag again with filter wool to separate. In 3 is the heater and in 4 sits the return pump and uv.

Any thoughts on this rear setup?

The skimmer does seem to be producing bubbles in the cup but not what I would call the brown gunk most people describe. It's just clear what bubbles that tend to fill the cup with yellowish water. If I turn down the air intake which creates less bubbles I get nothing in the cup at all??

Any help with the skimmer guys? Where should the water line be in the collection cone? And what sort of bubbles should I be getting?

Cheers for Reading this would really like to hear your thoughts on this

CoMan

Hi CoMan,

It doesn't sound as if you rushed things at all. You waited for the tank to cycle properly and then added your CUC and subsequently your fish and if all are doing ok and ammonia, nitrite and nitrates continue to remain within safe parameters then all should be fine.