Stocking 300 litre tank

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Lindat

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi All. I am quite new to the hobby. I got my first tank in February. It's a 180 litre community tank stocked with a variety of barbs, neon, cardinal and harlequin tetra, galaxy rasborus and a Cory catfish. I've just bought a 300 litre and am wondering what to put in it.I'd like something different from what I already have. My water is soft. I intend to plant it up. I quite like dwarf gourami and discus. I'm currently researching compatibility of different fish. Any ideas?

I also like the frilly type fish which I haven't been able to keep because of the barbs. Any ideas on a centrepiece fish, with others?

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

What are the tank dimensions (length x width x height)?

What is the GH (general hardness), KH (carbonate hardness) and pH of your water supply. This information can usually be obtained from your water supply company's website or by telephoning them. If they can't help you, take a glass full of tap water to the local pet shop and get them to test it for you. Write the results down (in numbers) when they do the tests. And ask them what the results are in (eg: ppm, dGH, or something else).

------------------------
Don't get dwarf gouramis (Colisa lalius) or any of their colour forms because they regularly carry Tuberculosis and the Iridovirus, neither of which can be treated.

Your best bet is to visit a few pet shops and make a list of fish and plants you like. Then post that list here along with the water chemistry (pH, GH & KH), and tank dimensions, and we can advise you on which fish and plants can go together.

Thanks for your answer Colin T. Info as follows:
Tank size: w 120cm, h 70cm, d 39cm
300w heater
Internal filter 1800lh
Led lighting
pH of glass of water from tap is 6.5