Stock for my 39 Gallons?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

jay2jay99

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
As some of you will know, I'm currently in my cycling period after buying a new tank, I am a complete beginner, any one got an ideas on what I could stock together that would be interesting? I am keen to have a few varieties. I have posted a pic too.

Many Thanks,

Jay.

Fish2.jpg

It really depends upon what you're looking for in your tank. There are a lot of good fish out there that a conscientious beginner can keep to start. If you think about and perhaps answer some of the follow questions, you may find that people can help you more easily...

Are there any specific species you've noticed that you particularly like?
What level of activity would you like to see?
What level of aggression?
Would you prefer many small fish, a single large one, or something in between?
What types of behavior are you hoping to see in your new fish?
How dedicated to tank maintenance do you think you'll be?

I second that which modernhamlet said and nice tank :)

Ah Ok, Well here goes:

I like the idea of interesting species, i do not want anything like goldfish or similar, no offence to goldfish or anything but I just think they're common and boring. Naming species is a bit difficult but I'd like something thats different, elephant nose fish, shark catfish, pigmy puffer, I like them, but I've heard there would be a problem with aggression. I read an article on someone who had mollies, and when he got sand for his tank, they were playing in it, digging etc, that would be cool, something playful. I like african dwarf frogs, do they go with most things?

I'd like quite an active tank although if there's the odd big slow fish and a school of more active fish swimming around then that would be good too, if it was possible.