April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Devlin H

Reaction score
I am new to the fish tank hobby. i started about 3 months ago. i have a 40 gallon planted tank i have 4 very big amazon swords, java moss, some fern looking plants, water lettuce, frogbit, some duck weed, and a few other plants i don't remember. As for fish i have a male powder blue gourami, 2 male fire gouramis, 1 harlequin rasbora, 3 tetras (not sure what kind they look like neons but red), albino bristlenose pleco, reg bristlenose, and a com pleco (for now might be moved to a different tank). My water parameters are PH 7.8-8.3 ish, ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates 20-40 ppm ish its hard to read the test kit. I am running a aqua clear 70 with a spoung some polishing pads and two bags of bio rings, no carbon because i use fertilizers once a week for my plants. T8 grow lights. Sorry for the long into now my question is why is all the shrimp i try to put in die? I have tried to put in 4 different types of shrimp and none of them have lived longer then 3ish days. I have tried cherry shrimp (that were breed locally), ive had chocolate cherry shrimp, ghost shrimp and Amano shrimp. if any one has any idea why i cant get them to live let me know!

Dissaper. The guys at my fish store said that the bodies will desinergrate and I wouldn't see bodies my new amani shrimp came out last night I saw him for the first time since I got him. I use sachem flourish it says it has .0001% copper

Why are your shrimp disappearing?

Heres a hint.
. As for fish i have a male powder blue gourami, 2 male fire gouramis,
They are being eaten.

That's what I was thinking my gouramis were eating them. The cherry shrimp are supper small.

Dwarf gouramis shouldn't eat live ghost/ glass shrimp.

What are the polishing pads you have in the filter?