Sand Substrate and Live Plants

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Diab2005

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I'm new to this and wanted white sand substrate but also fancy some live plants. Am I better to just use a different substrate or is the fertilising of the sand relatively easy?

White sand is not advised by a large percentage of fish keepers, it is unnatural for fish to have a white base for them not to blend into.

Personally I just use play sand, in the UK from Argos. Others use products from Tropica I think but the nutrients deteriorate after a year anyway, so you’d have to continue using fertiliser anyway or change the substrate. @Byron is knowledgeable as is @essjay on this

It's just been discovered more recently that since fish evolved living over darker substrates, that many species find the bright white of the light substrates stressful, which can dull their colours too. Also that it can affect their eyesight, especially with the fake looking, brilliant white sands (and we're talking tropical fish from lakes and rivers at the moment, not marine fish and marine sand). The tank lights reflect quite blindingly on those very white substrates, so more hobbyists are turning to darker and more natural substrates, trying to replicate fishes natural environments and show them at their best too.