Question On Stand Capacity

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

AngelOfDeath

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
hallo.

I have a 16 gallon tank, and a 5.8Gallon tank next to each other, placed on this

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/part...orkstations.htm

The combined weight is 218 pounds, or 98KG

I wanted to upgrade my 16 gallon to a 28 gallon, and remove the 5.8 gallon

the weight of the 28 gall would be 280 pounds (127KG)

Will the stand i have hold a 28 gallon? (Btw, it would be upstairs in my bedroom)

I have no experience with this, so would greatly appreciate any suggestions

hallo.

I have a 16 gallon tank, and a 5.8Gallon tank next to each other, placed on this

<a href="http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/part...orkstations.htm" target="_blank">http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/part...orkstations.htm</a>

Will the stand i have hold a 28 gallon? (Btw, it would be upstairs in my bedroom)

From my experience it wont hold, the stand will be made of chip board and will bow very easy and then will split, the second a drop of water touches the surface is going to start to soak into the chipboard which will make it bow faster.

You would need to at minimum re enforce the top of the stand, i placed a sheet of mdf that i bought from homebase and cut to size, (Approx £8) over the top of my cabinet that held a 60l, with a further 10Kg of sand (approx 75Kg in total.) with your cabinet i would also look at stripping out the little box compartments, keyboard holder etc etc and putting in a central support divider from top to bottom on the inside of the cabinet which will also give you 2 storage spaces as well as giving much needed support.

i wouldn't be able to say if the side panels could hold the weight of the structure in a secure way without snapping or folding in or out under all the weight. also the advert only states suitable for a 15Kg monitor, i wouldn't chance it myself to be honest.
Scott

hallo.