Picky Betta?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

vivapity

Reaction score
Hey all! Long time lurker, first time poster,, blah blah

Im pretty new to caring for bettas and i was wondering how to sdeal w picky eaters? I got a beautiful combtail named Poison a few weeks ago and at the time i got a cheaper, and lower quality pellets for him, and he loves it. ive been trying out better brands of food (flakes, pellets,, i think i have like 5 different feed now aah) but he spits out everything else, lucky me :/ Was wondering if anyone have ideas? I fasted him for 2 days and he only ate a flake or two and a single pellet. i gave up and am currently feeding him the one he insists on eating

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Try live or frozen food. If he was fed only live foods at the breeder, he will be unlikely to take dry food straight away.

Could the new pellets be harder than the first ones? I have had bettas that would only eat soggy pellets. Try soaking the new pellets in a bit of tank water for a couple of minutes, then use a pipette (the type of things that comes with a lot of fish medication) to lay the pellet carefully on the water surface.

But bettas can be picky eaters. You could try giving him only the new pellets, removing uneaten ones. It can take up to 2 weeks for them to start eating a new food. He will eventually eat them rather than starve.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Try live or frozen food. If he was fed only live foods at the breeder, he will be unlikely to take dry food straight away.

Thanks for the reply! Currently i only have access to live bloodworms, and im unsure how to preserve them because they die real quick,, any ideas? + ive heard its not good to feed him those as a main food source. I will try some freeze dried brine shrimp tho! As for not taking to dry food, it seems that hes alr quite comfortable with the pellets that ive given him so i dont think thats the case :/