Old Tank And New Tank Problems

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Reaction score
i am new to all this so please be patient :nod: i am a bit like this at the mo :-( as my tank(s) are going all wrong :*)

i have had an hexagonal tank for just undar a year now and have had some problems regarding the nitrate levels but once i got these sorted and i set out a cleaning rota the fish were fine. This tank is 15-20 litres (uk) approx and has an undergravel filter, heater etc and 8 neon tetras (added over 3 months) and 3 male guppys (added 3 weeks ago, now only have 2 see below). I havent got a lfs but i do have an aquatic centre near by and while i was there purchasing my guppys i asked if i could get a light fitted in my exsisting tank, anyway the person i spoke to said it wouldnt fit as the hood was too slim :( so i just thought i would have to leave it as it was.

anyway a week later (sunday 26th) i visted my local pet store and i saw and fell in love with a rena startup tank (25 litres (uk)) and it included a light :D so i brought it, now i set it up that evening and everything was fine, i washed the gravel (came with the tank) washed two plastic plants and a stone as decoration (already had) and set the tank up. it was a new heater and a new internal filter (not used one before only under gravel filters on both my tropical and cold water tanks) all being fine i left it thinking give it a two/three weeks and once tetsed i will transfer my fish :thumbs: not so :sad:

on friday night i tested the tank and the nitrate level was 160ppm, so i do a 50% water change, test saturday and it hadnt dropped at all, so sunday evening i strip the tank, wash all of it in boiling water (tank decorations, heater, gravel, filter and changed the filter cartridge) and put the tank back together, level once put back together 10ppm and tested today 10ppm :thumbs: