Novice aquarium owner. Help please?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

yardsales

Reaction score
Hi, I am relatively new to being an aquarium owner. I got my own apartment in January and I live here by myself. I am a gardener by profession so I truly enjoy plants and all things living. So I wanted to liven up my new place. I first started by adding some house plants and opening the windows to let some natural light come in, but I still felt like the place was missing something. One day while scouring youtube I came across a popular YouTuber named "The King Of DIY" and was amazed by his passion for fish and thought I should get a fish tank. So being a newbie to this I went to my local pet store and impulsively bought the first fish tank I saw, which was a 5-gallon betta tank and also purchased a couple of fish to add to it. Now at the time, I didn't know how what I was purchasing were Bettas. Long story short I learned through trial and error that is a big no-no. Feeling terrible about that situation I felt like I owed it to the bettas to do a little more research before ever buying another fish. So I studied up on tropical fish and learned how to properly set up, maintain and care for a community tank.