New To Fishkeeping - Sunburst Wag Platy

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Jean1984

Reaction score
Good day,

I am new to fish keeping. I started a few weeks ago as I always wanted fishies as a kid. Now been time for me to finalize and end up having fishies. I bought 5 Sunburst Wag Platy. Which I find is a great hobby. Sadly after a few weeks my 10 gallons was leaking overnight and I am working overnight. When I came back from work a big mess of water on my floor.

I went to the store in the morning and they reimburse me which I bought a 20 gallons instead and have no issues with it. As you can see on my profile pictures. I had to put my fishies in a bucket with aquarium water and add a filter to it and heater but lost two of them while setting up the new aquarium and the new furniture I got. 10 gallons of water in my older dresser was not good at all.

I do enjoy my new fishies and get a hang of it and added live plants to my 20 gallons as I heard live plants absorb ammonia as well. I added a air stoner with a oyster in it which open every now and then with a big bubble of air. Pretty cool quite frankly.

I do have an issue with my ammonia level which is still high. Yesterday I did a water change and clean my rocks at the bottoms. With approx 25% with Stability Seachem and Prime Seachem mix in the new water. When I looked earlier at my ammonia level after 24hrs it was still high so I did another water change of approx. 25% two days in a row.

I have about 5 live plants in my 20 gallons and added Stability Seachem one capful and Prime Seachem few drops with 24hrs intervals...

Is there a better way to control ammonia in my fresh water 20 gallons and only 3 Sunburst Wag Platy in it?

Thank you the add.

Looking forward to hear from you expert FishKeeper!

Jean

Attachments

• 20gallons_aquarium.jpg
    20gallons_aquarium.jpg
    235.8 KB · Views: 52