My new 5 gallon

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lcc86

Fish Addict
Reaction score
So I think MTS has officially struck! Picked up a 23 litre/5 gallon tank (edit- 6 US gallons) which comes with integrated filter and light. Am thinking of making it a betta tank, I know it's a bit tall but I've never filled my tanks all the way to the top. There's a lid but I hadn't realised there's a cutout corneron the lid, so that's another reason not to fully fill it. Am hoping no fish would be able to jump out of such a gap? Anyway I have long time to think about it while I cycle. It comes with a cartridge filter with ceramic media inside, which I've never used before so any tips on those would be greatly appreciated!

I need to pick up some sand tomorrow, am thinking grayish to go with the rocks I've already got. Probably want a feature bit of wood as well and it's going to be heavily planted with low maintenance plants and plenty of floating plants as well, but got the whole cycling process to go through first and a few others bits to pick up before it'll be ready.

The tank is in my kitchen for now so need to see how that works or whether I'll have to relocate it somewhere else.

Attachments

• 20231118_085519.jpg
    20231118_085519.jpg
    113.4 KB · Views: 40
  • 20231118_085526.jpg
    20231118_085526.jpg
    84.2 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:
So cycling the tank has officially begun! Well sort of...

I was doing a routine water change on my main tank and decided that I'd soak the filter for the new tank in the bucket I'd just cleaned my other filter sponge in. Threw the water with all the filter gunk in as well for good measure, and have added some food, fertiliser, water conditioner, a tiny java fernlet and a bit of elodea. It's not much but it's a start! All looks a bit moon-like in there atm, and the plants look a bit pathetic on their own :rofl: