Mikes 2 Litre Cube - New Begginings...

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

mlawson

Excessum ut clementia
Reaction score
Today I went shopping and saw a small glass cube so I decided to get it, it only cost £3. It's a 12cm/4.5" cube and contains 2 litres. With such a small tank I'm not having a filter, heater or CO2, although I'll use Flourish excel for a source of carbon. I'm using a 20watt desk light for lighting which will be mounted over the tank and to prevent algae I can easily change 50% of the water per day.

This is one idea I had on paint:

aquascape54553ggf.jpg

I'm not very good with paint, but you get the idea ( I hope!) Now looking at it, I think I'd have the path slightly more off center.

With this tank I am trying to achieve a sense of depth and make it appear as a bigger picture. The path should be difficult in such a small tank, but I'll still try. The plants are Pogostemon helferi, Elocharis parvula and Dwarf riccia. I'm not that happy with my plant choice yet. I feel the Pogostemon helferi may lose the illusion of depth, I have other alternatives such as H. micranthemoides and H. callichtroides. The Elocharis might be a problem too because it grows too tall, I could trim it often. Can anyone suggest some other plants which would be good substitutes? The rocks will be mini landscape rocks from AE.

This is really a first idea, anything can change, so all critisism and ideas are welcomed. I have no pictures yet as my camera is broken, but I'm getting it fixed soon, so if all goes well pics should follow.

Cheers,
Mike

Wow, that sounds like it'll be great when its done! What sort of desk lamp will you use?

I'll probably use this cheap one from homebase that is currently not in use, Can anyone suggest something more efficient?

Cheers,
Mike

Hi Mike are you going to use dividers to keep the substrate each side of the path from mixing together whilst setting up.