Lighting Questions

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Egmel

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I've just ordered a 'few' more plants for my Juwel Rekord 70 and am now debating upgrading my lighting.

I currently have a single ballast arcadia unit with a 15w original light, fitted about 6 months ago. Which conveniently leaves the back of the lid empty and ripe for converting to hold an extra light. (BTW anyone needing to fit a replacement light unit may come across the same problem I did, the gaping holes of the old light unit are exactly where you need to put bolts to secure the new light unit! I solved this using plastic from old floppy discs to block up the holes :) )

None of the plants I've ordered are particularly delicate (although I'm an avid gardener I'm still learning with regards to aquatic plants!) so I shouldn't need excessive lighting.

I'm looking at a dual ballast to power 2 more 15w tubes. My question is this, would I be better off running 3 day lights (the current arcadia original tropical and 2 arcadia freshwater) or running 2 day lights off the dual ballast and running a moonlight off the current single ballast (with overlapping timers at each end of the day/lunchtime)?

Would the 45w of day lights be too bright for the fish (penguin tetras, guppies and a gold spot dwarf plec) or likely to cause excessive algae? I don't add CO2 or extra nutrients (yet ;) ).

Either way it's easy to swap between the 2 options if I make the wrong choice to start off with, I just wondered what people's opinions were.

Many thanks in advance.

The "day" lights option gets my vote.... darkness is just as vital to plants, as is "daylight" !