L_Plates - Shrimp Tank

L_Plates

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Hello Everyone, I decided the best way to stop me messing around with my main community tank (as it needs to be left to grow in) would be to start a new project.

I decided on giving a shrimp tank a go, i'm still new to all aspects on Fishkeeping but i believe the only way to learn is to get stuck right in.

I managed to find a 27l tank on ebay brand new and nice and cheap so i snapped it up and the project started there.

Tank Specifics
Tank: Coopet Cube 27 Litre - Shrimp Tank
Dimensions: 30x30x30
Lighting: 11w
Filter: Coopet 240lph ( came with the tank )

Hardscape
Substrate: Colombo Flora Base Black
Rock: Mini Landscaping Rock from Aquaessentials
Wood: Manzanita Wood

Today my Substrate, Rock and Wood arrived 2 days late but never mind at least i can get started at last !

hardscape.jpg

This is the first time i have ever tried to really take care in the placement of wood and rock and all i can say is it is not as easy as people make it look !

I have used about 4 litres of Flora Base creating a gradual slope up to the top left of the tank. Then i started to play around with the wood and rock at about 19:00 hours. I finally stopped at 21:15 hours. Where did the time go !

Like i say this is the first time i have done anything like this so i hope you are not expecting anything jaw dropping, heh. Ok so here are a few snaps. Please note the background will be getting replaced.

Front View
scape1.jpg

Front View again but slightly higher
scape2.jpg

Side View
scape3.jpg

Side View again to show room at the back for plants
scape4.jpg

Plants
I am currently undecided on how i will be planting this tank. For the front i want a carpet and i am torn between HC carpet or trying a moss carpet using Fissidens Fontanus.