Jbl Taifun Co2 - Help !

nmacog

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to the whole Co2 thing, was talked into getting one at my LFS to help with my planted aquarium. So I went for the JBL Taifun S Reactor, TMC Solenoid CO2 kit, JBL Bubble Counter and CO2.

I have a 260 Litre tank and was setting CO2 to 30 bubbles per minute. I've been fertilising the plants with Seachem Flourish as well as Remove Algae to get green spot algae down. This has now been going on for almost a month.

The issues I have are - I was told the bubble spiralling up the Taifun S should be very fine when it reaches the top - this has not been the case, the bubble exits large from the outlet. Is CO2 actually diffusing in the tank ?

I installed a CO2 indicator about a week ago (Fluval CO2 indicator kit) - the liquid still shows as Blue (not enough CO2 in the tank) it should show Green for the right amount of CO2 or Yellow (if not enough).

I've increased the bubbles to 60 per minute now in an attempt to get the right amount of CO2 into the tank. I've also invested in the Taifun Extension set to double up the number of "spindles" to help with diffusion.

Could anyone please advise if this is the correct route to take ?

Many thanks

Sandy

I can tell you that you need to be adding more ferts than Seachem Flourish if you are enriching with CO2.  Flourish only contains trace elements and a small amount of potassium but it does not contain vital macro ferts i.e. nitrate and phosphorus.  Green spot algae is a classic symptom of phosphorous deficiency.  Rather than treating with medications I would try improving your fertilisation regime.  I recommend that you investigate Estimative Index (EI) or one of the other popular dosing regimes for an idea of what ferts to add.