High Tap Water Ph

Walkerlr

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello all

I'm new to the fish community. I have kept fish before but not seriously until now. I have some question on options for my tank water. My tap water is much higher than I'd like it to be, 8.4.

What would be a good idea to lower ph? for water changes?
can my fish adjust to this?
should i mix tap and bottled water?

Like I said, I am fairly new and would like some advice. Thanks!

Hi there, welcome to the forum
smile.png

Whether you need to lower your pH or not depends on a lot of things.

First of all, you need to find out the hardness of your water. Hardness (the amount of dissolved minerals in the water) is actually much more important to fish than pH is. You should be able to find out how hard your water is from your supplier's website
smile.png

What sorts of fish are you interested in? Some fish can adjust to higher pH levels, and others actually prefer them.

In nature, hard waters have a high pH, while soft waters have a lower value, but in our mains water supplies, this can be adjusted by the water company. You'll need to let your tap water stand for 24 hours before you test the pH, to get a true value, if you haven't done that already.

hi and 
welcomeani.gif

Agreeing with Fluttermoth. A high pH often points to hard water - although as Fluttermoth says, it's best to check. I'm a big advocate for stocking our tanks with fish that like what water we have. 
If it turns out your water is hard (as I suspect it is with a pH as high as that) then look into researching hard water fish - guppies, mollies or even mbuna cichlids if your feeling that way.

There are ways to soften the tank water - adding a peat layer as substrate, adding bogwood can help to soften too but then you get into the danger of making it hard work when you need to water change as there will be a discrepancy in tank - tap. Another option would be to use RO water which usually comes with a neutral pH and already treated.