Help stocking 60gal with dojo

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Muddify

Reaction score
Hi, I am still fairly new to the fishkeeping hobby. (And new to this forum) I wasn't very smart at all when I first got into it and purchased a Golden Dojo Loach with only the information the store gave me in a small conversation. This Dojo has become my favorite pet very quickly, and I recently purchased a new 60 gallon tank for her as I now know the 29 is far too small.

I'm not too sure on the pairing of some fish as plenty of sources say different things, so I'm hoping the help of a forum who knows my specific situation can help! So here are a few questions.

I was looking into getting Pearl Gourami and Angelfish as some other stock fish to go with the tank. Would these two get along together? Should I get dither fish to help them, or would they just not work at all? (Unique and larger predatory fish tend to catch my eye but I don't want to put my Dojo in danger!)

Should I get my Dojo friends? Currently all I have going into the tank is her, and she's extremely jumpy. Would the tank support her and another Dojo or two? And would a friend help her confidence?

What other fish would you recommend me stocking? If I should get dither fish, what species would you recommend? Cleaners?

And finally, what plants would my Dojo not dig up? The only plant I have had some luck with was a Water Wisteria, which she eventually dug up a few times, and an Anubias.

My main focus on this tank is to have something large to relax me that I won't be concerned over my fish's happiness with. The most important thing about it is my Dojo's comfort and safety. PH and such are mostly adapted to her needs, but I can change it a little bit. Other interesting fish would be nice since this tank will be displayed in my room, but I can definitely sacrifice some pretty features for my baby girl. Thank you!

Hi and welcome to the forum :)