Goldfish Newbie

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Fresh_Start

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a long time keeper of tropical fish but have never tried goldfish. Are there any good sites on the internet about goldfish? I've got a tank that is 48 inches long by 12 inches deep (122 cm x 30 cm). How many goldfish can I keep?

Hi there, for me, less is better with goldfish. They can be quite dirty, on the other hand, they are colorful, bold and friendly so they at least show up in your tank and don't hide from you. Have fun.

ALASKA

Were you thinking of Common Goldfish, Comets or Fancies? Comets and Common Goldfish need more space than the others as they grow larger and need more swimming room. Because of the Fancies shape they don't need so much swimming room as it tires them. Are you considering any other coldwater fish, for example Dojo/Wheather Loaches? :)

Hi there
I am still learning myself and have had many problems with my tank and ammonia but now I seem to have sorted this problem out.
I have had fancy goldfish since December and I now have a tank which is 3' long by 16 1/2" deep by about 12" wide.
I have 10 fancy goldfish and two plecs
My fish are
1x Lionhead
1x Pearl Scale
1x Calico Oranda
1x Red Oranda
2x Red and Black Orandas
2x Black Moors
1x Red Cap
1x Bubble Eye
2x Plecs
All of the fancies are extremely friendly but need somewhere to hide for resting and if they are feeling a little under the wheather.