Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Foggy Tank and a Newbie

Discussion in 'Cycle your Tank' started by Scribble1979, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. Scribble1979

    Scribble1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I am ordering some plants but in the meantime I have a peace lily I can add that's currently living in water. Would this help?
     
  2. Scribble1979

    Scribble1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I have been doing 50% water changes every day and it looks like the crisis is over for now. Now the readings are a little bit strange but probably a lot better.

    Nitrates 5
    Nitrites 0
    Ammonia 1

    I'm thinking about putting my peace lily in there. I have been reading up on How to cycle a tank with a fishless cycle and with a silent cycle like the other member suggested. Right now I'm trying to figure out the difference between filter components. When you say don't throw away filter "media" which component is that?

    My filter has a black screen looking thing that doesn't come with replacements but it does come out. Kind of like a crunchy sponge. Then I have a piece that I pour charcoal into, and both the charcoal and the pouch I pour it into are replaceable.

    I just don't want to do the wrong thing again. I had actually been rinsing them in tap water which probably has led to this current problem.

    Is the black spongy thing the part I shouldn't mess with?
     
  3. Metalhead88

    Metalhead88 Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    20
    Your readings aren't all that weird, It pretty much shows an almost cycled tank.

    Cleaning your media with tap water will kill beneficial bacteria that grows in the filters and will absolutely slow down the cycle or even destroy it completely.

    Media is anything that goes inside the filter. So sponge, foam, carbon, ceramic rings, bio balls, of anything like that would be considered media. Rinse that stuff with tap water. Do not replace any of it either. Just use it until it falls apart. If it is a sponge, it'll pretty much last forever.

    I don't use carbon, but that is considered chemical filtration and removes odors, and in theory should improve water clarity. That stuff should be replaced every once in a while or it pretty much becomes a weakened version of bio media. I would look for a sponge that can be cut to shape to replace that.
     
  4. seangee

    seangee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Berks
    The way most people do this is to keep some of the water taken out for the water change in a bucket, then rinse the filter media in that bucket. That bucket should be clean and only used for fishkeeping activities,
     
  5. Scribble1979

    Scribble1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so 75 gallon tank has been cycled with a fish less cycle. Now I have three tanks. Betta is isolated. Goldfish are isolated.

    Tank 1 6.6 gallons:
    1 betta
    Nitrate 20
    Nitrite 0
    Ammonia 0

    Tank 2 10 gallons:
    1 goldfish
    1 coy goldfish
    Nitrate 30
    Nitrite 0
    Ammonia 0

    Tank 3 75 gallons:
    1 bn pleco
    3 xray tetra
    2 guppies
    1 ghost shrimp
    1 Cory cat
    Nitrate 30
    Nitrite 0
    Ammonia 0


    But now I have a scary problem. My Pleco turned almost white!!! He was black, now he is white. He is eating, swimming, and otherwise fine but he is WAY lighter than before.

    Could it be that I'm using a lighter colored substrate? I was using black and multi colored gravel and now I'm using very light-colored River Rocks.

    I'm worried because this is what happened to a friend of mine's pleco before it died. I'm feeding him bloodworms, shrimp, cucumber, and algae wafers.

    I don't want him to die, I bought this giant tank just for him!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Naughts

    Naughts Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, lighter substrates can make fish look washed out.
    It can also be a sign of stress.
    Check the temperature and make sure the heater is working.
    Try and get nitrates below 20ppm.
     
  7. Metalhead88

    Metalhead88 Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    20
    This. His color can change based on substrate or background. He may be a bit stressed from the move, but he looks fine. Be sure to give him some algea wafers since there isn't much in the new tank.

    Good news is your tanks are cycled and they are definitely in a better tank. As already mentioned, nitrates should be lower 20 really being the absolute max.

    You shouldn't have to do 50% everyday, but now 75% or more once or twice a week depending on nitrate levels.

    Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Amy821us1

    Amy821us1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    D23D9AC6-CB76-4897-B10F-2A30E0DB975E.jpeg F6649F1C-BBF5-4951-9F6D-7C3C9F62DC45.jpeg 709C5ED1-FCFE-4F94-8A91-09A9CBEC940E.jpeg 1291998D-21D1-439D-AD74-259D670D8D29.jpeg Hi! Don’t feel bad! I’m totally new to the fish thing too and to this forum! I currently have two betta tanks and one larger community tank that has two glofish, 3 male guppies, 1 molly and 1 red wag platy and 2 African dwarf frogs in it! All my tanks are led with lids of course and I’m on my second betta unfortunately because I came home from work and seen somehow the lid popped and my first male betta made a break for it and it was on when I left to go to work! I looked all over for him and I assume the cat ate him because he was nowhere to be found! So I got a new male betta and my daughter has one as well too now!
     
  9. Amy821us1

    Amy821us1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess it says my other pics are too big to load
     

Share This Page