Fluval FX4 intake tube is too long

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

litenup71

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,
Newbie here looking for a solution to my filter problem. I'm not totally new to fishtanks but I am new to the land of canister filters! I decided to spend the money on the Fluval FX4 after doing a ton of research and I'm sure it will will be a great filter, but I'm so scared to screw up installation that I don't know yet!! It recommends having the intake tube about 2-3" above the substrate (still to be determined) but in my 75 gallon tank the tube is so long I can't possibly keep it at the proper height!
Is it possible to cut the tube in some way to make it short enough to fit?
I don't want to make a dumb mistake and ruin this filter!
Thanks for any advice!!

You can remove the extension hose and attach the grate to the main hose.
Thats what I did with my fx4 in my 55g (shallower even than a 75g)

Are you talking about the intake?

The tube it is on is telescopic. In 75 gallon it is easy to use. I run mine.right at the sub. But it can be much shorter or longer. The inner tube is telescopic. Then you just cut your hoses to length once everything is installed, leaving no dips, and be sure to follow the directions.on.priming and away ya go.

20201216_154658.jpg

Most plastic pipes can be cut with a hacksaw (use a fine tooth blade) or a box cutter. A hacksaw is safer and does a better job. Don't apply too much pressure when cutting through the pipe, just let the fine teeth slowly work their way through.

Hello Everyone,