Fluval Edge 46L Filter Upgrade

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Nemo2182

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi Guys, Newbie here, apologies if this is not the right place, please move accordingly.....

So I popped my Aquarium cherry (well technically I've had a goldfish in a bowl and a very low tech tank as a boy) and made a nano setup with a 46L Fluval Edge. I brought this as a distraction from COVID19, to help me, wife and three boys have an escape from your boredom of being on lockdown... that said what was supposed to start as a low budget family hobbie and literally had me jump in both feet and embrace the wonderful world of keeping fish. I aquascapped to best of my ability with rock and plants, on a plant substrate covered by black shrimp gravel. It looked alright for a first attempt

At the beginning I was stupid. I cycled for a week without fish, no real helping of the cycle I.e. add food, put ammonia in etc etc and within a week I was happy and stuck 3 guppies in. Luckly for me these little buggers are hardy and have saved me from myself as I fought to get this tank cycled while keeping these fish alive. My first loss came once I added 5 Fire Red Cherry shrimp two weeks later. 3 died in successive days leaving me heartbroken and feeling stupid, as my wife reiterated above my patience level.