Fishless Cycle

Wordy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
My tank has been up since New Years Eve and last Friday I got an API Master Test Kit, the results on Friday were:

PH 7.6
Amonia 0 ppm
Nitrite 1. ppm
Nitrate 40 ppm

I've tested the water Sunday after a 25% water change and the results were pretty much the same. I'm doing a 30% water change tonight and test again. The product I'm using to mature the filter is Interpet Filter Start and thats is getting added every other day. I've read a couple of suggestions regarding turning the heater up to about 30c and adding some mature filter media from another tank.

Regarding adding mature filter media, my other tank is a BiOrb so the filter sponges is a circle shape, would I be able to scrape some of the gunk of the filter and add it to the newe filter or squeeze the water out of the old one onto thew new one?

Would anyone else have any suggestions, or do you think I'm been a little impatient and it's only been just under three weeks?

Thanks

right as your adding the filter maturer we've not got a real test of how much ammonia your filter can process, i'd advise you to buy a bottle of pure ammonia, dose the tank up to 5ppm of ammonia and monitor the ammonia and nitrite levels over the next 24 hrs. report back the results to us and this will give us a much clearer picture of where you are.

What you can do is buy a second sponge for the bi-orb, cut off one third of the old sponge and replace it with one third of the enw sponge. then just cram the old sponge into the new tanks filter any which way you can, if that's not possible then just dump it in the tank.

Excellent bit there from MW on how to move some "mature media" over from your existing biorb to the new filter, I agree with all that. Mature media is one of the most reliable ways to potentially take a little time off the cycling process.