Fish Recommendations

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

pmex

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I'm a biology grad student in Canada. I've been trying to come up with ideas for what to research, but my main problem is that I don't really know what species I could look at, so I thought maybe you guys could help.

I'd basically like to study the effect that parasites have on mating systems (mate choice, ornamentation, stuff like that). For this, my ideal species would be fairly small, one that is reasonably easy to take care of and breed, one in which males are naturally ornamented in some way (bright colors, large fins, etc. The showier and crazier the better, but not artificially selected) while females aren't, that doesn't have any parental care, and preferably that only mates once and lays batches of eggs (poeciliids/livebearers could work too, but the fact that they have internal fertilization and supply nutrients to their offspring during development makes it a bit tricky).

So far I think my best choices are probably some kind of killifish (In particular, I think "annual" killifish sound really promising, but the whole group sounds promising), rainbowfish, or maybe darter. Lots of factors other than the ones I already mentioned could come into play (it'd certainly be a plus if that species has been researched before and there are standard ways of raising them, for example. It'd also be great if the parasites that infect them in the wild are well known.), although the aforementioned ones are the most important ones. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!

Hi, welcome to the forum! I'm afraid I don't have enough experience with different species to be able to offer any suggestions, but that sounds like a very very interesting study!

Hopefully someone with more extensive knowledge than me will be able to help :) there are some very experienced and knowledgeable members on here.