Fish dead after water change

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Callisto405

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have a 29 gallon tank that has been cycled for 2 months and have had no problems. I have been doing 25% water changes every week for the last 2 months since I added fish and have had no problems. Today I decided to do a 50% change due to high nitrates. The water temperature was exactly matched, I added tetra dechlorinator to the recommended amount plus a bit extra. Added a little API leaf zone for the plants. A little tetra water conditioner. Ph was 7.4 before the change and is 7.4 after the change.
1 zebra died immediately following the change (only one in tank)
4 of my 10 Mollys are swimming at the surface. The Dalmatian looks really stressed and a couple have a clamped dorsal fin
All my 5 Corey's(2 adult 3 small) are not active at all and are just lying there not moving. Sometimes some lay on their side and look like their dead. But when I touch them they swim again
Also there is 2 snails, a pleco ( moving to my 55 gallon) and 2 swordtails and 4 babies in the tank
I'm baffled, can someone tell me what's going on

Attachments

• 16063388049994324527361397715280.jpg
    16063388049994324527361397715280.jpg
    216.2 KB · Views: 123
When in the process did you add the dechlorinator?
What is in the water conditioner, does it also dechlorinate the water?
And what do your tests tell you now? (Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrates)

Added 2/3 in first 5 gallon bucket. A sprits in the 2 bucket and the last 1/3 in the last 5 gallon bucket. Added water immediately after

Attachments

• 16063394397715296144215009848278.jpg
    16063394397715296144215009848278.jpg
    278.3 KB · Views: 101
When in the process did you add the dechlorinator?
What is in the water conditioner, does it also dechlorinate the water?
And what do your tests tell you now? (Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrates)