Emergency, fish dying.

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

Ben2522

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all. Started having fish death a couple of days ago. 240l, 24.5 degrees c, ph 6.8, planted tank. Ammonia 0, nitrite 0 nitrate 20
Lost a tiger barb looked emasticated when it died. 3 yo-yo loach now looking thin and on last legs. No obvious sign of disease or ich.

see yo-yo does look thin to you?

Do you think there is a worms infestation? If so recommended treatment?

some other fish do seemed to have stopped growing but dont look skinny as such. See image of these also.

ECAC23FD-2A18-425A-B951-FC44E527A87C.jpeg

152C62C1-A064-4FFB-838B-F93D42297CB5.jpeg

I have very little experience with disease, and it is a very complex subject so I never guess. Members like @Colin_T @essjay @Deanasue may be able to suggest something when they see this.

In the meantime, if you could do a video of the fish, the loaches and barbs and others, it might clue us in to something. Rates of respiration for example can be informative, or behaviours, interactions, etc, and none of this can be seen in photos.

And, how long have you had them?

I will say I do not think the loaches are thin, I had a group of closely-related Botia kubotai for 10 years and the three males were I am sure about the same size and the two females much thicker.

I have very little experience with disease, and it is a very complex subject so I never guess. Members like @Colin_T @essjay @Deanasue may be able to suggest something when they see this.

In the meantime, if you could do a video of the fish, the loaches and barbs and others, it might clue us in to something. Rates of respiration for example can be informative, or behaviours, interactions, etc, and none of this can be seen in photos.

And, how long have you had them?