Corydoras and ph drop

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Irishlad123

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi im relatively new to the hobby. This morning when i woke up one of my 6 corys were floating i was schocked as she reciently laid eggs but could not do anything as i was late for a bus. I came home and ive tested the water and examined the body and the only oddity is my ph has dropped from 7.2 to 6.4. My tempeture is at 25 degrees celcius. My nitrite at 0 ammonia is at 0.25ppm and nitrate 10ppm. It is due a water change tommorrow. I change the water every week and a half. One corydoras did graze its face lately and it kinda went might but has healed by itself could this have spread a disease. No fish in the tank was aggresive. I did leave her out of the water this morning on the glass edge that is on the tank and when I examined the body it did have a reddish colour. Is this just from being out of the water. What could have caused this ph drop and how can i fix it.

The pH drop is not likely the issue here. But we should look into it anyway, so what is the GH, KH and pH of your source (tap) water on its own? Remember when testing tap water for pH you must ensure the CO2 is out-gassed as this can affect the pH result (only for tap water, not when testing tank water). Sit a glass of tap water out for 24 hours then test, or agitate a small amount of tap water very briskly and test.

When we know the GH and pH of the tap water we will have a better idea of the chemistry. What is the normal pH of the tank? This should be tested prior to a water change to get an idea of what it normally is, at least for a few weeks, then periodically.

7.2 and i have soft hardness Current mg/l of CaC03 in your water18, SoftAverage mg/l of CaC03 for your Water Supply Zone23, Soft

7.2 and i have soft hardness Current mg/l of CaC03 in your water18, SoftAverage mg/l of CaC03 for your Water Supply Zone23, Soft