Complete Novice Looking For Advice

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

mrspnut

Reaction score
Hi,
I've been reading forums and googling for ages and I think my head may fall off with all the information so I'm posting to ask some specific questions.

I currently have a very small 20l tank that we used to have a black moor in (for about 6 years) I also have an aqualine internal power filter and a small amount of gravel.

I would like to set up a new tank to house some neon tetras and would like some advice on what else I need to buy to get going. I'm planning on doing fishless cycling and have read loads about that today but I don't have a great deal of money to begin with because we've just bought a new house and new windows, floors etc etc. :rolleyes:

Any advice and recommendations would be greatly appreciated as would information about aquarium shops in and around Lincoln because I haven't come across any on my travels and web listings seem to be years out of date.

MTIA

Neons are quite sensitive, its recommended to let your tank mature for about 6 months after the cycle before you add neons

You also need a heater.

Edit:

Im sure sure if you could fit a small shoal of neons in a 20l. Someone else will talk to you about that.

Please do a fishless cycle ask on here in tropical discusion about it PLEASE

Hi mrspnut and wecome to the forums! :hi:

Hopefully you've finally found the right home here in our beginners section. There are lots and lots of experienced aquarists who like to chat here and many who should be able to help you in plain english with the process you're hoping to learn about. It can be a very fun way to learn some new information and to enjoy the hobby.