Clown Loach Eating Bloodworms

Matt50680

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Wellsburg, IA
This is my smaller Clown Loach. Hes figured out that good food floats at the top of the tank. Sometimes he clicks if other fish get too close to his tasty meal. My big loach wont go to the top and get snacks, yet...
 

NickAu

Member
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
5,113
Reaction score
1,219
Location
AU
No substrate? Clown loaches need a sand substrate so they can root around in it looking for food.

With no substrate its very stressful for fish also substrate is where a lot of the good bacteria live.
 
Last edited:

cynic

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
436
Reaction score
5
:/

Are you going to fill out the tank in any way?
 
OP
Matt50680

Matt50680

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Wellsburg, IA
:/

Are you going to fill out the tank in any way?
Of course I am, I ordered it yesterday online. I am going with Caribsea Instant Aquarium Peace River. I have some rocks and PVC pipes I am putting in for hiding coves along with a couple cut down plastic pots. I ordered a new powerhead as well since the one I have is only rated at 125gph (not big enough for a 29g tank IMO), the new one is rated at 400gph.
 

NickAu

Member
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
5,113
Reaction score
1,219
Location
AU
Caribsea Instant Aquarium Peace River
Stuff is over priced junk, do not waste your money. Plain sand is best.

A 29gallon tank is way too small for 6 Clown loaches, You need a 6 foot 100 gallon tank for them.
 
OP
Matt50680

Matt50680

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Wellsburg, IA
A 29gallon tank is way too small for 6 Clown loaches, You need a 6 foot 100 gallon tank for them.
I know that, and that is why I am getting a 125 gallon tank with my tax return in late Feb/early March. I am just obtaining them now because they are difficult to find in my area and I wont buy fish online.
 
Search tags for this page

clown losch blood worms

do clown loaches eat blood worms

Top