Cichlids Are Dying Help! Plz

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Rikzpet

Reaction score
I am completely new to this (posting a question I mean :) ). I have had my tank (400 litre) for 5 years, started with tropical fish, but changed over to Cichlids about 2 years ago. Over the last few months I am losing 1 fish after another. Very disheartening. I get my water tested very regularly and it's always perfect. I change water regularly, like every 2 weeks, 25 %, clean filters in aquarium water fortnightly too ( they seem to get very dirty quickly)
I have 5 clown loaches in the tank too, which are nice and bright in colour. My dragon bloods have recently started with black dots, but continue to breed, which makes me think they are healthy :) plz correct me if I'm wrong :). Anyway, I don't clean the gravel every fortnight, not sure if I should be doing that.
I'm thinking of going back to a planted tropical tank with angels etc, but would need some advice on how to restart my aquarium. Any advice is very much appreciated

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    67.9 KB · Views: 150
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 138
Cichlids are not my strong point but there are some issues I might be able to help with.
When you say the water is tested regularly I am guessing that you are not doing the testing yourself, but rather having it done at a fish/ pet shop. This can be rather bad as some shops will tell people the water is "all good" but not really understand what the water should be to start with. Please if possible invest in your own liquid test kit (the strips are natoriously inaccurate) then you can be more certain of the actual tanks readings when ever you want to test it. A good test kit will also help you keep track of the alkalinity and acidity of your water.