brine shrimp

wuvmybetta

Caw!!
Retired Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
I've been buying live brine for my eel for 5 months now, about 6 bags a week @ 2.50 a pop :crazy: ,of course he doesn't eat ALL of that (he would if I let him,pig)the other fish and the bettas get some too but...sheeesh it's breaking me!

I keep them in a 2 gallon jar with an airstone, can they breed like that? I usually pour out the old water thru a brine net, dump the leftover brine back in and add the new brine and some fresh salt water....am I pouring baby brine down the sink when I do this? I've never seen babies but I see TONS of eggs all the time

I'm tired of buying it but I need to have it on hand, so how do I go about raising them myself?

Ack!! WuvMyBetta, stop throwing the eggs down the drain!! If you keep them in the salted water with an airstone, they'll hatch! If the water is heated, they'll hatch more quickly. I've never bought them live (only lfs in town doesn't sell any live food), but I often have a little hatchery on the go, and all you do is add eggs to salted, aerated water. :thumbs:

hmmm, I had a feeling I was doing something wrong :rolleyes: :*)

so how can I heat them? They sit by the window and get sunlight daily but it will be cold soon so I'll need to find a new spot...any ideas?

oh one more question (probably to be followed by 10 more :p )

should I take the old egg filled water and put it in a seperate jar with an airstone?

oops,more questions....would it be ok if I put them somewhere cozy,like my laundry room for example? do they need light?