Betta will not eat. Very worried

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

lolipopllux

Reaction score
Hello!

So I recently bought a beautiful halfmoon Dumbo. I took him home on the twelfth and he seemed very content in my filtered and heated ten gallon tank. I have a moss ball but no live plants as of now. He has a little log and some hiding places. He's spent the last few days exploring and looking around, in short he has been very active.

There is only one issue; he has not eaten since I got him. I understand that he is stressed out and this may be the cause but I cannot help but worry, I am new to fishkeeping and I just would feel so much better if he would eat. I have tried pellets, bloodworms and brine shrimp and he has shown no interest in any of them.

Any suggestions?

Thank you so much.

A fish can go a week without eating but he should be eating something by now. Pellets are best as they float on the water for a bit. Is your tank cycled? Are you aware of the nitrogen cycle?

I actually have a sick fish I'm caring for that hasn't eaten in 4 weeks - she's thin but still fairly active - she has fish bladder disease - so 2 days is nothing.

I would look into adding some real plants to give him a place to retreat to when he's stressed. But he needs an open area in the aquarium so he can easily get to the top for air. He might also like Tubiflex worms (most fish think they are a delicacy) buy the freeze dried kind and use 1/2 of a cube - get it very wet so the worms rehydrate and don't bloat him up and offer it to him. Most fish love flakes too - probably the junk food of the fish world but there are some very good brands. Just offer a little at a time or you're going to have a VERY dirty tank. In fact you may want to suction out any old food right now before feeding him fresh food.