Basic Reccomendation

~FairyAngelFish~

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I really want to start off new, now finding out that the tank I now own is too small for most fish. I want to buy a new bigger tank, but not over 5 gallons. I have no clue what kind of fish to put in there! I was thinking on a beta but then the thought that they jump came to mind and I do not want to have to deal with that since I'm a bit scared BUT back to the story. Ya. I'm not an expert so I don't think I could deal with more than 4 fishes :fish:. And what ones aren't agressive? And ugh lol

Maybe I'll get some Danios. They look alright. Are they easy to care for and hardy? Please give me some ideas! :kana:

You don't have too many choices with a 5 gallon tank, but I think danios would work.. But I'm sure someone who knows will post here soon.. :)

I thought Danios had to be kept in groups of like, 5 or so...

Bettas do jump, but not very often... as long as you keep a lid on the tank that has air holes in it, it should be fine. :)

You should definitely not keep danios in a 5g. They are fast and need plenty of swimming space. The only things I would keep in a 5g would be a betta, an ADF, or a few dwarf corys or otos.

If I may ask, why do you only want a 5g tank?

What is an ADF? Because my parents don't want to be "responsible" for my own pets and so I have to keep the tank in my bedroom and I have a table that's 17X24 in. in surface. I'm not an adult so... I want to be able to maintain it. What size gallons would fit on my table?

Um, I could fit my tall thirty gallon on that table. If you get a tall tank you can get more gallons, but if your looking for something short I know for a fact that a ten gallon would fit on there.

Oh, ADF stand for African Dwarf Frog, not to be confused with a ACF, African clawed frog, which will grow large and eat anything it can fit in it's mouth. They are small aquatic frogs that don't need dry land and stay pretty small.