All About: Tanks And How To Clean Them

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

drsoda007

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the whole fish keeping thing kay, so any questions that might soundsimple to you are puzzling to me.

I've just bought a 30 Gallon Tank,stand,filter,gravel, gravel siphon, net, AMTRITE DOWN and WATER AGER GN.

I rinsed the gravel in plain water and are now drying it in the sun.

How do I clean the tank. Do I just rinse with water, or can I bleach it?

ALso What else do I need (Apart from fish and food)

HELP ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THANKS THANKS THANKS!!!!

Hi Dr. Soda detective and welcome to the forum!

Is the tank new? If its new you can just rinse it out thoroughly with tap water, dry the outside and place it carefully on the stand. Be sure to check that it has a very even surface to sit on all around and level it carefully. If its used you can use a very mild bleach in water (somewhere on here it tells the percent, sorry I can't remember) and then rinse as before. You've already done well with the gravel.

What you do next depends on your plans. Do you plan to fishless cycle? Have you finished reading the articles pinned at the top of the "New to the Hobby" forum here? If not, I suggest starting with the Beginners Resource Center, Cycling Resource Center links and looking for the AlienAnna article and the Miss Wiggle article. Study the Nitrogen Cycle in those articles and then look at Nitrogen Cycle charts on Wikipedia. If you decide to fishless cycle (and I strongly recommend that you do) then the rdd1952 article will be what you work with and you should study it carefully.