Aiptasia

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

nick87

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi all.

I am setting up a new tank and made the stupid mistake of not thoroughly checking some S/H rock i bought, turns out it has a large population of aiptasia :<

I have been keeping marines for a few years but i have never had them before, how would you go about destroying them ?

The tank is empty except the rock and i am not fussed about losing all the life on the rock if it means no aiptasia.

I would i be best to let the tank cycle and add a group of Berghia Nudibranch?

Any advice would be great.

Nick

I've heard peppermint shrimp are a good natural way. But this is quite controversial as some 'dont work' :lol:

Another method I have heard of is using soildering iron.

Also squirting 5ml of lemon juice or boiling water into them can work.

I've heard peppermint shrimp are a good natural way. But this is quite controversial as some 'dont work' :lol:

Another method I have heard of is using soildering iron.

Also squirting 5ml of lemon juice or boiling water into them can work.

Thanks for the reply, i have had a look at the above methods, the peps look like a good idea if they decide to eat them.

With the joes juice, lemon ides i don't think i'd ever get them all.

Defo, burn the :devil: take the rock out of the tank and have the satifaction of hearing them implode!!! Peppermints only work on small ones and sometimes dont work at all, joes juice, aptaisiax sometimes work but they often come back!!

As you only have rock in your tank, burn em!!

Seffie x

ps a kitchen blow torch is also good :devil:

Defo, burn the :devil: take the rock out of the tank and have the satifaction of hearing them implode!!! Peppermints only work on small ones and sometimes dont work at all, joes juice, aptaisiax sometimes work but they often come back!!

As you only have rock in your tank, burn em!!

Seffie x