A Bichir Project

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

flying_turtle

Reaction score
hey all this is my first time in the forum, nice to meet you!

for context, I'm a novice fishkeeper based in Indonesia and have been interested in this hobby for a long while. i mean, i was introduced to the hobby by my late father! been keeping some fishes since i was a 5y.o. (am 23 now, how time flies..). I've had some experience with guppies, mollies, mini-gouramis, and even predatory fish like pufferfishes, oscars, even an albino bichir and terrapin actually! unfortunately after my father died, most of the pets got donated and i've been having trouble going back to the hobby. live gets in the way and it has been a very long time since the last time i keep any aquatic critters and to be honest this project is quite big, hence i would like to ask some opinions from other more experienced fish keepers in this matter before truly realizing this project.

so i was thinking about building a tank for a dinosaur bichir. the concept of the project is to make a perpetual ecosystem to feed the bichir without me having to go to the aquastore and buy some feeder fish every now and then. i know having a separate tank with the feeder fish to breed would be much cheaper and safer than doing this but i have been very fascinated by this idea that i just cannot help myself. my plan is to use a 90 gallon aquarium which will be fully aquascaped. not a very elaborate aquascaping though, something more minimalist and simplistic like the image below is what i have in mind. maybe with some added caves, hiding spots, and such because it'll be fitting for my project.

hipwee-Aquascape.png