78W. Over 30G. Tank (36" Wide)

Lady J

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
This is my first time with aquarium plants. I would like to know where 78w. of light over a 36" wide tank (30 g.) fits as far as the category of lighting (eg: low, medium or high). My tank is still cycling and I read from several sources that putting the plants in during the cycle helps it get going a bit faster so I have 2 anubias and one sword. So, is this light too much, not enough or about right? Thanks.

That lighting is quite low for a tank that size, but anubias and swords are relatively low light plants, so you should be OK :good:

Thank you for your reply. :) So, 2.5w. per gallon is considered low? Good to know so that I make sure I don't add higher light plants. I only really wanted to add anubias since they're relatively easy although I have my heart set on a banana plant as well.

Ok, well this is great to know! Opens a a few more options if I want to add other plants after getting more experience. If the lighting seems too strong for the anubias, I can try to let a few bigger plants tower over them a bit to diffuse the light. It's a t5 which I like a lot. Do all anubias require not being planted in the substrate? And, how do you plant a banana plant. I think I read that the banana part is not planted.

Yep all anubias needs to have it's rhizome open :good:

I'v enever had experience with banana plants, but a few pages i've read on the web say to gently push it into the substrate but leave most of the roots above the substrate?:good:

Awesome! They are such an interesting looking plant and I think it will be fun to add one (when I can find a healthy specimen). I'm not sure what else I will be adding---maybe just a tank of various anubias and a banana plant will look great---not sure yet. Again, thanks for your help. Is there anything else you can think of that will help (I've really researched adding carbon, substrate, etc. so feel pretty confident but we'll see... lol)