37 gallon overstocked?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Thank you, I will check out the Seriously Fish site. There is so much conflicting info out there. When I purchased the Oto from a local fish store, there was only one available, and the fish store owner who had been in business for 34 years said he would do well on his own. And then I read online that they should be kept in groups, so I definitely felt bad that he had been alone for so long. I purchased two more but wondering if I should get a few more Otos when I return the loaches. I will see if there is any info on Otos on the Seriously Fish site.

If you have any suggestions for fish for a tank this size, feel free to let me know. I am new to the hobby and open to suggestions.

Thank you and to everyone for the help!

I read that at least three yoyo loaches should be kept together (though more is better, but unfortunately my tank is not large enough for more). Is this not true? I attached an image of where I found this information.

What fish do you recommend for this size tank?

No, it is not true. Loaches are highly social fish, and as I have said establish an hierarchy early on. A female is the alpha fish and she keeps the hierarchy in tow. You need at least five, six is better, to avoid possible issues. The stress things like this cause cannot be seen until it is too late. Essjay provided similar facts. These things are in the genetics of the species.