120 gallon reef setup?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SAChichlidLover

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I was just brainstorming Ideas and thought of setting up a fairly large reef tank including coral beauty angel, Bangaii Cardinals, emerald crabs and any other species that could go with this setup... If I did this, I would be diving into a completely new world of fishkeeping as I have zero experience with saltwater and have done moderate research into it. Could I possibly have species, setup, equipment and scaping advice? My family are all persuading me to do this so I'm strongly considering! :)

Right I have a full stocklist of what I want to add in this tank..

1 x Coral beauty
4 x Sunburst anthias
1 x Royal Gramma
5 x clownfish
1 x yellow tang
1 x silver belly wrasse
4 x bangaii cardinal
2 x emerald crab
4 x clean up crew shrimp

Depending on prices I might swap a few fish as if I go for this project I will be skint!
Gonna try keep PH at 8.2
Are protein skimmers a must? Same for UV?
Best corals for this stocklist?

Sadly, due to the recent restrictions in Hawaii the price of tangs has skyrocketed. You may have to swap that one out.

If you plan on corals the coral beauty will nibble on polyps. If you don't plan on corals, or if you just want soft corals, it will be a beautiful fish. I have one right now and it's lovely.

The anthias are wonderful fish but due to their eating habits I recommend them be put in the tank very last and wait about a year. They are planktivores which just means they are more expensive to keep and do best in a mature tank with plenty of live rock and little critters to nibble.

What are the tank dimensions (length x width x height)?

Don't waste your time with a UV steriliser.