Zebra Danio

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

maggie jaycee

Reaction score
Help me please,
I have just noticed that one of my six zebra danios looks very fat! I( think it may be pregnamt! Any info on what I shhould do as I am new to this will be great.
Thank you, Maggie.

Well danios are egg-layers so if its a female she may be egg-laden. Thats how you can tell the difference between males and females, providing there is nothing wrong, females are chubbier.

Your danio could just be a healthy female. :)

Danio's breed best in sub tropical temps (as zebra danio's are actually sub tropical fish, and breed best in cooler tropical temps) in tanks which have dense fine planting (to lay their eggs in), clear open spaces (to court and shoal in) and very clean water (to give the eggs the best chances of hatching and fry growing successfully) :good: .

Tokis Phoenix, thanks. Does that mean that a breeding net isn't good and if not will the other fish eat the eggs/fry? Maggie

Not keen on on breeding nets myself and as for breeding danios in them, I don't think it would be a good idea as they need alot of space as Tokis said. Danios and other fish will eat the eggs/fry.

I take it you want to raise the fry if your danios spawn? My cories spawn frequently but the majority of the time I leave the eggs to be eaten.

I've raised three danios successfully but my method was a bit different. I didnt have the space to set up another tank.

Tokis Phoenix, thanks. Does that mean that a breeding net isn't good and if not will the other fish eat the eggs/fry? Maggie