Your Thoughts, Ideas Gratefully Accepted

FoundNemo

Reaction score
Hey all. Born again newbie here, seeing as I last owned Tropical Fish about 30 years ago, I have a couple of questions I want to throw out to you.
My tank arrives this week, so I have plenty of time before the first inhabitants do. It's a 60L (assuming my maths is up to scratch I make that about 13 gallons?? so should be ideal for the numbers I have in mind.) Once everything has settled down and it is ready to accept the fish I was thinking of adding;

4 x Neon Tetras, then later 4 x Zebra Danios and then finally, 2 x Bettas (female). I don't believe the Bettas would have a problem with the other fish, as they're not as aggressive as the males, but would this set-up be ok? Or would guppies be a better option than Bettas?

And finally.....Shrimps!! Is it necessary to have them in the tank to help with the cleaning. I like the idea of having them, just haven't been able to find out much about them.

Thanks for listening; You can now go back to your normal programs! :hyper:

Hi, and welcome back to fish keeping :good:

All sounds good, although two female bettas may fight. Either keep a single female or a group of about 5. They will still bicker but the aggression will be spread out better.

Hi, and welcome back to fish keeping :good:

All sounds good, although two female bettas may fight. Either keep a single female or a group of about 5. They will still bicker but the aggression will be spread out better.

Thanks bronzecat. :good: It's exciting to be getting back into it.

I didn't think about the ladies fighting each other, but I should'ave guessed, this is the 21st Century after all! :shifty:

Maybe 1 is the way to go - I love the idea of having five, but then they'd take up all the room, and I really want those Neons and Danios. :hyper: