Yep, I'm A Newbie

This Old Spouse

TOTM Winner May 2013
Reaction score
Hi, everybody,

I just started my tank about 2-1/2 months ago. It's a 55 gal with live plants and these:

1 cory catfish
2 peppered corydoras
5 serpae tetras
5 tiger barbs 3 F 2 M
3 dwarf gouramis (1 female, 2 male)
4 mollies (2 male, 2 female)
5 orange Von Rio tetras
2 (?) plecos (one's been missing for 2 weeks)

I have another 10 gal with:

4 male guppies
1 Chinese algae eater
female fiddler crab

The smaller tank has been perfect. The 55 gal will NOT clear up. I just installed another filter and that doesn't seem to be helping. I do 10 gal water changes every two weeks. The fish all seem to be happy and healthy and most get along well. Could the problem be in the rocks that I have in the tank?

Also, could my missing pleco still be alive somewhere?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

1 thing i would suggest is to get rid of the chinese algae eater because a. it will outgrow that tank and b. your guppies will be breakfast

hi all sounds well what type
of rocks do you have in your
tank and do you know your stats

ammonia

nitrite

nitrate

pH

oh hi by the way hi and :hi:
to the forum

1 thing i would suggest is to get rid of the chinese algae eater because a. it will outgrow that tank and b. your guppies will be breakfast

I'm thinking about transferring it to my bigger tank, but then there is nothing in the 10 gal to take care of the algae. Hmm?

I'm thinking about transferring it to my bigger tank, but then there is nothing in the 10 gal to take care of the algae. Hmm?
:hi:
YOU are meant to take care of the algae. If you use an algae sponge, it will take you less than 1 minute to get the aquarium glass shiny and clear. And I hope you are feeding additional food for the Chinese Algae Eater too.I hope you are aware the CAE will need a 55 gallon tank soon

Hi & welcome :)

What type of plecos have you got?